Green power – The Avocado!

Good afternoon! I created something for a healthy snack today and am here to share on my blog!

The Avocado! What a fun fruit. Yes it is a fruit!

Eating a colorful variety of fruits and veggies provides wider range of valuable nutrients like fiber, vitamins, and potassium. California Avocados are part of The Produce for Better Health Foundation’s Fruits & Veggies—More Matters® health initiative in the green fruit category. This program offers expert cooking advice, nutrition information and shopping tips.

I didn’t quite get into ‘avocado mode’ until a few years ago.  My grandmother always fed me it when I was little and told me that it tasted like butter!  I didn’t really get it, but learned that anything that relates to butter is an exciting thing for my family!~  I always liked it but never really used it.  Recently I have been incorporating it into my weekly menu.  It is full of healthy fats, vitamins and minerals, not to mention great flavor and texture so I can’t pass it up!  I have been adding it to salads and dressing, and of course I used avocado to make a fresh home blended guacamole.  I have also tried adding it to smoothies to enhance texture and flavor and let me tell you it works!  It is a creamy deal!  I will have to post some of my smoothie recipes eventually.  I have also tried using it as a replacement for cream cheese/butter/mayo on bagels, breads and wraps when wanting that creamy texture but not too much added fat and sodium that I would typically get from dressing and condiments. It is even good in pasta!

Today I was kicking for some tuna salad!  After a long workout I wanted some protein!  What’s easier than opening a can of tuna? (I didn’t feel like waiting for the hard boiled eggs to cook and didn’t have any made).  I remembered that I have a stock of tuna in the cabinet and a fresh avocado that I bought at the market this past week!  What to do… so this is what I came up with!

Tuna salad remix using avocado fresh lemon,  herbs and spices:

  • 1 can of chunk light tuna
  • 1/2 lemon(Tbsp of lemon juice)
  • 1/2 fresh ripe (soft) avocado
  • 1/2 dill pickle
  • Fresh chopped onions or garlic depending on your taste
  • Italian spices, black pepper, onion or garlic powder
  1. Open can of tuna and add to a bowl
  2. Chop up whole pickle add to tuna
  3. Finley slice and chop onion and garlic and add to mixture (if desired)
  4. Cup half of avocado smash with fork, add 1 tbsp of lemon juice and mix until all incorporated, not too creamy (unless that is the texture you like) Add desired spices to mixture.
  5. Combine Tuna mix and avocado mix in the bowl, serve immediately or chill until cold.

Top on tomato slices or toasted whole wheat baguette!

This is such a simple recipe and can be added to macaroni salad in place of mayonnaise, a filling for sandwiches or served as a snack!

Enjoy and please share your avocado recipes with me!

Leave a Reply

