Amazing Banana Bread!

Banana Bread:

Just the sound of it brings some kind of comfort to the mind. Bananas are a wonderful fruit. I have been trying to master this recipe, like any other, for quite some time.  I found a really simple recipe on-line and tweaked it.

The key to making a successful banana bread really is less flour and more banana.  The original recipe is from simplyrecipes.

Recipe Alterations:

For step one I used 4 large bananas. In place of melted butter, I used Smart Balance with flax oil.  Bananas are naturally sweet and get even sweeter the ripper you let them get.  I suggest using a 1/2 cup of brown sugar, not that it is “healthier” than white but you will get a richer flavor with less sugar.  I also used 2 – 3 tablespoons of ground flaxseed to add even more moisture to the cake.  I used a whole egg, where you can use only use whites.  In terms of flour, I suggest using whole wheat flour. You could even cut it to 1 & 1/4  cups of flour and 1/4 cup of oats.  You could say the secret to this recipe is the ground flax. I left the bananas a little chunky as well, I didn’t puree them too much, adds more texture and moisture.  I did not add any nuts, that is up to you, however I would recommend walnuts if you were to add them.  You could even add a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips to get creative.

In order to bake them, I did not use the traditional 9 x 5 or 4 x 8 loaf pan. I used cupcake/ muffin tins!!! Wow what a difference. Perfect size and the moisture was locked in! Don’t forget to spray the tins with olive or vegetable oil PAM. * Also baking time will change, you want to look for that golden brown color of the cake. Continuously check to see if the cake is done.  Do not overcook.  If you do end up baking in the muffin tin, it will not take an hour.  I was check the cake periodically after 20 – 30 minutes of baking.

If your bananas are this yellow they are NOT ripe enough yet. They should be very brown, many brown spots and very soft in order to make the perfect banana bread.

This is more like the over-ripe look of the banana:

Remaining banana:

I had 2 large bananas left… I sauteed them in a saucepan with a little of that margarine, brown sugar, and vanilla to make almost like a banana foster (without the alcohol) YUM!

I topped my banana bread with that to make a very yummy dessert! Try over frozen yogurt for an additional dessert idea!

*** Bananas and Nutrition:***

What do bananas do for us? They are a high carbohydrate fruit providing a natural whole food energy rich snack, especially when working out. If you are diabetic you want to remember to stick to smaller bananas when eating them for a snack, that was you do not get too much carbohydrate from it. They provide potassium which is good for preventing muscle cramps and keeps our heart and muscles functioning regularly. They also provide fiber. Even their color of a very pale yellow provides antioxidants that aids in preventing disease.  A medium banana (about 7 inches) provides 105 kcals, 27 grams of carbohydrates (2 servings of carbs), 487 mg potassium (that’s a good amount!), 3 grams of fiber, and even some Vitamin C!

Search for more banana nutrition information check out the USDA web-site.

Have other banana recipes?? Share them here!

2 thoughts on “Amazing Banana Bread!

Leave a Reply

